Your Elected Town Council

Here is a list of the elected officials for the Town of Rocky Mount. Every other official in the Town works for this group of me. When these men try and patronize you and explain it is a “personnel matter,” remind them that they are in charge of personnel.

Mayor Steve Angle – | 540-420-0448

Mayor Angle is a lifelong resident of Rocky Mount. He was elected to Town Council in 1990 and served in that capacity until his election as Mayor in 2006.

A graduate of Franklin County High School (FCHS) and Virginia Tech, Mayor Angle holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration and a Master’s of Arts in Educational Leadership. He taught at FCHS for 28 years and now works in FCHS administration. 

Jon Snead – | 540-489-1804

Vice Mayor Snead is a Franklin County native, he graduated from Franklin County High School in 1991.  He is a 1995 graduate of Emory & Henry College.  Mr. Snead has been the Vice President and Manager of Franklin Finance Company, Inc. since 1997.  He is Chairman of the Virginia Financial Services Association.

Billie Stockton – | 540-580-4255

Councilman Stockton was elected in May 2012. 

He is a graduate of Franklin County High School and Jefferson County University in Watertown, NY.  Following a six-year stint in the U.S. Army, Mr. Stockton devoted his thirty-year career to law enforcement, serving as the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office Chief Deputy.

Mark Newbill – | 540-556-0458

Council Member Newbill has served on Rocky Mount Town Council for a total of 11 years, including 5 years as the Mayor of Rocky Mount.  He is currently working as a contractor and enjoys showing dairy cattle.  He also serves as a member of the Rocky Mount Rotary Club.

Bobby Moyer – | 540-489-3033

Bobby Moyer joined Town Council in July 2010, Moyer is a former Town of Rocky Mount police officer and a retired contractor. He formerly owned Moyer’s Seamless Gutters.

Tyler Lee – | 865-323-4489

Council Member Lee was elected to Town Council in 2020.

Ralph Casey – | 540-483-7570

Ralph Casey was appointed to Council in 2021. Casey retired from Appalachian Power in 2008 after more than 35 years with the company.